Ipsy October 2014 Review

octipsyholdoctipsyextraholdI got a ton of goodies this month because I used up my points to get some extra goodies! This month’s theme is Beauty Candy… I was pretty impressed by this month’s selection since all but one item were paraben-free!

I got two Ipsy bags – one for the extra bonus products and one for the main glam bag.
octipsylayout octipsymbshadowMicaBeauty Mineral Eye Shadow in 34 Harliquin. Retail: $7.48 for 2.5g. I wasn’t a fan of loose pigment but I do love the color- blue is my favorite! I have other Mica loose eyeshadows before and I believe they are very pigmented. If you add water- the color should be even darker (it works for pressed eyeshadows too)! octipsylotion

Fig & Rouge Hand Cream in Mango Mandarin. Retail: $3.08 for 20 ml. I thought I would love the smell of Mongo and orange together but the smell is over powering even when I used a little bit of lotion. I have really dry hands so I had to reapply at least twice to make them soft for a while.

octipsybbcreamEcru New York Acara Protein BB Cream. Retail: $12.00 for 1 oz. I love that it’s paraben free! I have a bunch of hair creams/conditioners from these subscription boxes so they should last me awhile. I think it’s a great “sample” size that’ll last me months since all you need a grape size (for long hair). I use less though because I like to condition the ends of my strands. I don’t straighten or curl my hair often so I really don’t need to use much.

octipsysllipStarlooks Matte Lip Gloss. Retail: $4.00? for .3 oz. I’m not a fan of Starlooks since they use parabens in almost everything they make, plus the size is extremly tiny but it’s a good size to keep in your purse/clutch for touch-ups. The full-sized version is $13.00 which looks less than half the size.

octipsyiceland Skyn Iceland Glacial Cleaning Wipes. Retail: $5.00 for 10 wipes. I also have a collection of wipes- I like using them to take off majority of my  make-up first. They are nice for hot days since they have a cool sensation when you wipe your face.

octipsytriohold octipsyswatchBonus Extras: Milan Trio Eyeshadows. Retail: $11.97 for 3. I really like these colors since I’ve been in a neutral eyeshadow phase. The light pinkish color and dark brown are mostly matte with a slight hint of shimmer and the gold is mostly shimmer. You can use a fluffy brush to apply because you can build up the color. I feel if you use your fingers it would be too much pigment on your fingers but that’s my option.

octipsybm5in1BareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow in Elegant Taupe. Retail: $18.00 for .1 oz. Holy-moly this thing is huge… I don’t even know how anyone would finish one of these. I was hoping I would fall in love with this color since the other sample I got was so dark, this one was lighter however still dark for my lids. You really only need a thin layer/dab of this because a little goes a long way. I like all the benefits it has but I’m not a big fan of the color. I wanted to use it as a light base so maybe I’ll consider getting a light base color in the future.

Overall, I was happy to experiment new makeup Ipsy had given me and the extras were nice as well. My bag was worth $31.56 + $29.97 = $61.53 so I’m fairly happy. Most of the stuff will be traded or given away.

Care to Comment?

